Stop Wasting My Tax Dolllars

dollar-sign  If you agree with the following letter, I suggest you copy it into MS Word, or some other word processor, and send it to your US Senators and members of the US House of Representatives.

To find out who they are, direct your browser to: http://act.commoncause.org/site/PageServer?pagename=sunlight_advocacy_list_page

Here is the Letter

January 25, 2017
The Hon. Kamala Harris
112 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington DC 20510

Dear Senator Harris:

Re: Cost Savings On Social Security

I have a suggestion that I believe could save millions of dollars in Social Security costs, and which I think should be acceptable to both Democrats and Republicans. At the end of each year, each Social Security recipient receives a document in the mail telling them how much their monthly Social Security check will be in the following year. Usually that amount will be no more than one to three dollars more than in the year just ending.

According to the Social Security Administration, at the end of 2016, their were 60,907,307 people receiving Social Security payments each month. That’s just slightly under 70 million recipients. Let’s assume it cost the government $1 for each annual benefit announcement sent to Social Security recipients. That would mean the government would save roughly $70 million a year by no longer mailing the document.

However the cost per document is probably higher than $1 for each document mailed. Sending them incurs expenses for computer time, and printing, staff and mailing costs. Those likely add up to at least $2 or $3 per document sent. So the annual savings, from not sending the annual document, could be $140 million, $210 million, or more.

Since the usual benefit increase is no more than a few dollars, there is nothing useful anyone can do with the information about the increase. It amounts to just pocket change and can have no effect on anyone’s financial planning.

These annual mailed documents serve no useful purpose. Spending my tax dollars on such a useless activity is wasteful. Please introduce, or support legislation to end this wasteful activity.

Sincerely,

Boyce R. Hinman

cc: The Hon. Dianne Feinstein
The Hon. Ami Bera

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

;

 

 

2 thoughts on “Stop Wasting My Tax Dolllars

  1. Boyce Good letter, good thought, I like idea of practical ways of saving money, but I’m not sending. Why? I’m probably anal -or whatever the syndrome is called. By the end of December I’m establishing my budget for the following year and given my income I budget to the penny. Those penny increases from SS are an important part of my need for accuracy. Thus, I look forward to the annual computer generated, tear here to open with difficulty envelope. I keep it as an IRS record even for future audit. So,how anal am I? In my file I have every SS annual report I’ve received since I started receiving SS. I know, it’s ridiculous. My CPA daughter thinks so, too.

    Hope all is going well for you; it’s nice to see you back on line. Wow! We do need all the support we can get for the next 48 months.

    Chuck Schepel

    Chuck Schepel at

    Like

Leave a comment